Walnut and Blue Cheese Salad | Working off the Backlog

I’ve spent every summer in San Francisco with my 公公 (gong gong, granddad) since I can remember.  (Don’t worry, this is the last post about my summer.  We can move on soon.)

I used to be braver.  I’d venture into his basement despite the albino spiders with unnatural numbers of eyes and go out the back door into the untended garden, only to encounter mutant bees that still buzzed around despite the freezing San Francisco summer.

Now I just stay on the upper floors and let 公公 make me lunch.  Coffee and sesame rolls, anyone?

Weirdly enough, now that I’m too much of a coward to even set foot past the first step down to the basement, I’m a lot more willing to try new foods.  Blue cheese, for example.  Any self-respecting child (and my mom) would pinch their nose and turn away at the sight of those moldy streaks, but I decided to give it a try this past summer.  Oh my.  It’s still too strong to eat on its own, but blue cheese is the best companion to something as totally flavorless as lettuce.

This is the easiest and most delicious salad anyone can make.  Seriously, do it now.

Go to the supermarket.  Buy some lettuce.  Buy some blue cheese.  Buy some candied walnuts.

Now go home.  Chop up the cheese and put it at the bottom of your bowl.  Wash the lettuce and add it in.  Now sprinkle some walnuts on top.  Toss lightly.

Devour.  (Chinese style?)

Walnut and Blue Cheese Salad

Makes as much or as little as you want.  Don’t take this recipe too seriously.

  • Blue cheese
  • Lettuce
  • Candied walnuts

Aren’t the instructions up there already?

Leave a comment

Filed under Cheese, Lunch, Nuts, Recipes, Salad, Vegetables

Leave a Reply

