Video: Sausage Rolls

As I mentioned before, I do a food segment on a YouTube collab channel called The Codex Omnis.

It’s awesome…mainly because of the six other people on there (Sophia, Audun, Alex, Aslak, Will and Anna).  Thing is, for as many different reasons, I haven’t been able to upload a video for the last three weeks, plus I was missing one from before, so I’ve got a month’s worth of videos missing.  My Internet sucks.  My timing sucks.  My laptop likes to shut down randomly while I’m uploading overnight.

I think I solved all the above problems by just uploading from a different computer, though, so hopefully I’ll be embedding a video here every once in a while.  Here’s this week’s!

Sausage Rolls

  • 1 pack frozen puff pastry
  • 1 pack cocktail sausages

Preheat oven to 220ºC (430ºF).  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Defrost the puff pastry in the microwave on low, removing it every 15-30 seconds to rearrange the sheets so they thaw evenly.  When the pastry is soft enough to cut but still cold, remove it.

Remove the plastic or paper dividers if you have them and stack the sheets on top of each other (I’d probably flour the sheets at this point next time to make sure they don’t stick and go wonky).  Use some amazing math skills to determine how many triangles you need and how you need to cut your pastry sheets to get the right number of triangles.  If you can’t figure it out, just follow the pattern I used in the video and hope you have enough.

Peel a triangle away from the mass of pastry, take a sausage and roll it up from the fat end of the triangle to the thin (see video – I can’t explain it properly).  Tuck in the stray edges, but make sure to leave some air holes so they don’t explode (that happened to one of mine and my dad decided that meant he had to eat it even though I was making these for a school event).  Place on the baking sheet.  Repeat until all sausages are used up.  Unused pastry can be wrapped up in parchment paper and re-frozen (I think).

Bake sausage rolls for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown and not quite burning.  Serve warm.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Recipes, Video

Leave a Reply

