Mookies

Thursdays are ‘cake days’ in my Chemistry class.  We don’t always bring in cake, but most Thursdays, somebody (sometimes our teacher) will bring in baked goods that we eat illicitly among jars of acids and organic solvents.  Part of my first introduction to chemistry was the Magic School Bus episode/book where they bake a birthday cake for Ms. Frizzle, so I always find Chem cake days pretty appropriate.

My contribution last week was a batch of mookies:  muffins that are still soft inside, but which have a crust so crunchy that they have to be known at least partly as cookies.  How did they come about, you ask?  I collated a bunch of different recipes to make a super awesome muffin, but neglected to factor in the fact that most of them called for wet fruits where I was using M&Ms.  Oops.

I think I actually like the cookie vs. muffin texture better than traditional muffins, but maybe I’m a little biased.  Heh.

I took this opportunity to try making my own brown sugar with molasses and white sugar.

Not so pretty to start with, but then you get this – not too neat, but it does the job:

A nice big dose of cinnamon made itself more apparent on the second day.

The dough was already looking vaguely cookie-ish before I added a shower of M&Ms, which worried me, but not too much because just look at those colors!

Because the dough was a dough and not a batter, it was a little harder to get into the muffin cups.  I might use an ice cream scoop next time instead of a teaspoon.

That little bit of extra effort was worth it anyway when I crunched into the side of a muffin and sank my teeth into the pillowy middle.  Mmm.

Oatmeal M&M Mookies

Serves 12 civilized people OR 1 really hungry person

As for my Best Cookies, any type of oats works, but my mom recommends against instant and I don’t know why.

I meant to use chocolate chips in this recipe, but I found out that my mom had used them all to make cookies and the ones they had at the supermarket were ridiculously expensive (I think they cost about HK$2 per chocolate chip), so I bought a tube of mini M&Ms and threw those in instead.

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar (or 2/3 cup granulated sugar and 1 tablespoon molasses)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 200°C (400°F) and line a muffin tin.

If making your own brown sugar, mix together the granulated sugar and molasses in a large mixing bowl until well combined (I started with a wooden spoon and moved on to an electric mixer – if you have a food processor, it’d probably be easier to use that).  Add the butter and cream until fluffy.  Add the eggs and vanilla and beat again until incorporated.

Sift the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon into a medium bowl, then stir in the oats.

Add the dry ingredients and chocolate chips to the wet ingredients and mix until just combined.  Divide the batter evenly among your muffin tins until each cup is about 3/4 full.  Bake for 15-17 minutes until a tester inserted into the middle of a muffin comes out clean.

P.S.:  “Why ‘Mookie’?”

The other candidates were ‘cuffin’, ‘coofin’, ‘mufookie’ and ‘cookuffin’.  The first two sound like ‘coffin’, the third sounds like an expletive, and the last just doesn’t sound as cute as ‘mookie’.

Leave a comment

Filed under Chocolate, Cookies, Dessert, Muffins, Oats, Recipes

Leave a Reply

