Best Cookies | Transitions

Apologies for not posting this earlier.  This is my “Happy New Year” post, even though we’re past the first week of the new year.  (Well, according to the French, I’m still in the okay zone.)  I hope you all haven’t abandoned your resolutions yet!  Starting from last year, I resolved not to make any resolutions because the inherent nature of a resolution is that you abandon it.  Now go forth and learn the secret to making these cookies the best of the best:

Oats.  Lots of ’em.

One push of a button and you can blast them into a vortex of oblivion.

A pass through a sieve with some flour makes for some sweeeeeet drifts.  And all the other ingredients are just waiting there to jump in.  (By the way, it’s not really advisable to dump in all your ingredients like that.  Butter and sugar first, then eggs and vanilla.  I just wanted some pretty photos.)

This vanilla extract is 35% alcohol, which is about the same content as vodka or tequila.  Drink enough and you might turn into a singing dog yourself.  (The comedic value of this blog has either dropped to zero or increased astronomically.  I can never tell.)

My family’s owned this “Mixer De Luxe” for ever and it still works the same as it did the first day we bought it.  Because of the box, I’ve known how to say “Mixer De Luxe” in Italian, German, Swedish (I think) and several other languages since I was a kid.

It takes a bit of effort to get your dough into shape at first…

…but then you end up with this!

I just left the dough raw and stuck it in a box to bake at my friend’s place on New Year’s Eve, but he’d baked cookies as well, so his family just kept mine.  (I kept some dough for myself in the freezer, otherwise I’d be protesting.)

His cookies were really good.  I think I had half a dozen…the last was at 2:30 am.  Then I woke up the next morning and had a giant buffet lunch that included lamb chops.  I love holidays.  I hope yours were great too.

Best Cookies (adapted from a recipe my mom adapted from one claiming to be the recipe for Mrs. Field’s oatmeal raisin cookies, although these are actually better)

Any kind of oats should work fine for this, though my mom says no to instant for reasons unknown.  Listen to her – she’s usually right.

This recipe can be adapted to any kind of topping – chocolate chips and M&Ms are usually a crowd-pleaser, but the original raisins could work too.  Marshmallows sound kind of good with chocolate chips…hmmmmm…  As for the amount of topping, the amount can vary wildly depending on how much you want to stuff into your dough, so the mass I’ve given is just a rough guide.

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 1/2 cups oats (see notes)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 200g (7 oz.) mini M&Ms or other toppings (see notes – or don’t. be bold!)

Preheat oven to 175°C (350°F) and grease cookie sheets.

In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugars.  When they’re well-mixed, add the eggs and vanilla and beat again until a consistent batter is formed.

Grind up the oats in a food processor or blender.  Sift them into a separate bowl with the flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda.  Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients in three or so batches, mixing with a wooden spoon as you go.  When a fairly stiff dough has formed, add toppings (you might have to start using your hands at or before this point).

Use an ice cream scoop or large spoon to transfer balls of dough (about the size of a golf ball) to a cookie sheet.  Bake for around 12 minutes.  They might seem soft when they come out, but leave them for a bit and their consistency will be perfect.

2 Comments

Filed under Chocolate, Cookies, Dessert, Oats, Recipes

2 responses to “Best Cookies | Transitions

Leave a Reply

