Fried Egg and Cheese on Toasted English Muffin | Sundays

For the past year or so, I’ve spent my Sundays at home alone.  My parents go out for lunch and grocery shopping while I do homework (kind of).  Sometimes I actually do get a lot of work done.

Other times, I get really easily distracted and start composing, reading, or cooking.

Well, I have to eat, don’t I?

My ideal Sunday brunch includes eggs, cheese and bread in some form.

I love frying eggs in my mom’s tiny Le Creuset cast-iron pan.  I don’t know why, but something about a mini-frying pan just makes me so happy.

There’s nothing like only having gluten-free English muffins in the house to remind you that your mom’s a total health nut…

Mmm…cheddar…

The feeling of biting through the soft, bready, hot middle of an English muffin, the crispy edge of a fried egg white, and a gooey lump of cheese is nothing compared to that of a perfectly half-cooked egg yolk streaming into your mouth.  Overcooked yolks suck.  They give me hiccups.

Fried Egg and Cheese on Toasted English Muffin

I feel kind of dumb writing a recipe for cheese on toast, but this is special.  Seriously.

You can use any kind of bread – I like English muffins because they’re round, so the egg covers them completely, but maybe you like plain bread (yeah, right).  Same goes for the cheese, although I find a sharp cheese works a lot better.  I’ve been really into pepper Jack lately, so if you want a bit of kick you can try that.

Also, I’m not really sure how this would work without a toaster oven.  I guess you could use a grill if you have one, or even the big oven.  But that seems like a bit much for a piece of toast.

Serves one

  • 1/2 English muffin (or one slice of bread, see notes)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vegetable oil or a pat of butter
  • 1 slice sharp cheddar (or other cheese, see notes)

Heat your frying pan on medium-high heat.  While it’s warming up, stick your English muffin or other carbohydrate-based flat food in the toaster oven.

When the frying pan is reasonably hot (a droplet of water should skitter around and sizzle), add the oil or butter and swirl around.  Crack the egg into the pan and leave it for a few minutes, until the bottom is opaque and the edges are a little crispy.  Slide a spatula under the egg, making sure you can completely lift it up, and flip.  (If you burst the yolk, it’s not the end of the world – just let it cook to seal off the break.)  Turn off the stove and run back to check on your toast.

If you’re like me, you can balance the egg on your spatula and carry it over slowly to the toaster oven, then slide it onto the toast.  If you’re concerned about your egg falling on the floor, then get a plate out and bring it over and slide it onto the toast.  Break the slice of cheese into a few pieces and arrange it so that it covers the egg completely.  Put the whole thing back into the toaster oven for another couple of minutes until the cheese is melted or starts to bubble – your choice.

Remove the toast and try not to burn your mouth while eating it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Bread, Breakfast, Cheese, Eggs, Lunch, Recipes

Leave a Reply

